top of page

The Leeward Islands are called the Leeward Islands because they’re away from the wind (“lee”).

The Leeward islands of the West Indies

Most popular cruising destination in the World

The Caribbean

Leeward Islands are named due to the prevailing winds blowing from east to north west.

The Caribbean Leeward Islands are Anguilla, St. Martin & St. Barts, Saba, St. Kitts & Nevis,

Antigua & Barbuda, Montserrat, Dominica,

Martinique & Guadeloupe.

Moderate temperatures all year round. Vacation throughout the idyllic tropical Caribbean Islands.

Up, down, north, south, Lesser Antilles, Leeward Islands, Windward islands; it can all be a little confusing.

Let’s figure out this mystery of the geographical names of the Caribbean Sea, best on a Sailboat Vacation.

Which one are The Leeward Islands and which The Windward Islands?

The Leeward Islands are composed of the islands from Anguilla to Antigua.

It’s simple, just look at them on a map. They are called The Leeward Islands, because they are much more protected from the easterly winds.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page